The Shrinking of Time

I realized earlier this week that I am possibly going to collapse from the sheer amount of “stuff” that we’re doing this month. I always say that I get sick in March, but it never really occurred to me until today that I get sick because February somehow always ends up super-stacked and I have so much going on that I can’t stop and rest. I’m not complaining. My kids are healthy, active kids involved in a few activities, but not, I don’t think overscheduled, but somehow February seems to be the confluence point of all the activities into one haze of busy stuff.

Part of it is my seeming inability to say no. What I find fascinating about it is that people have started volunteering me for things I neither offered nor was asked to do. I want to figure out how to not promise things I may not be able to deliver. I’m just so tired.

My goal this year is to use the word “inspire” as my focus. As I look back on January, I don’t know if I can honestly say that I have inspired anyone at anything. I love the activities I do and the things I’m involved in and I don’t want to give any of them up, but I also don’t want to drown or develop yet another upper respiratory infection. I can do with out that. So, I am thinking about how to protect my health this month and still accomplish the list of things that I have to do.

Basically, it’s about eating well, drinking tons of water, and resting where I can. I may not be the first person to come up with that; won’t be the last, but I also know that I need to reevaluate the way I schedule activities and my time so that I don’t end up with these sorts of energy crises on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

